My top 5 moments in Germany

Disclaimer: ok so 2 of top 5 moments aren’t technically in Germany, but they occured while I was living here so they definitely count.

It feels very bittersweet that I am approaching my last weeks as an intern in Cologne, the past 5 months have been a fantastic experience and I will be leaving Germany with some very fond memories. I’ve learnt so many new skills through my job, my German has come on leaps and bounds and I’ve met some lovely people who I hope to stay in contact with. I can’t possibly talk about everything I’ve done since I excitedly moved to Cologne in February, but I will try my best to pick my top 5 moments (not in any particular order).

1. Mum and Dad visit

Having my parents visit for a long weekend was so nice, it had been exactly two months since we had seen each other and I had great fun showing them around Cologne. We managed to do most of the tourist attractions despite the miserable weather and ended up having a fantastic time together. You can read my post here to see exactly what we got up to.

IMG_0452

2.Β Salzburg

My first trip abroad during my YA was to Austria to visit one of my best friends Katherine who was living in Linz. We met up in Salzburg, I flew from Cologne and she got the train from Linz and we had an amazing weekend together. This was probably my overall favourite memory of the year abroad, we had such a great time catching up, drinking processo and exploring Salzburg. The city is beautiful and we had amazing weather for the trip, even managing to squeeze in a day to the lakes. Read here for more details.

IMG_1901

3. Phantasialand

Next in my “top 5” moments is my day at Phantasialand, I took the day off work to meet up with my old A-level teacher and her school trip. I got there nice and early for opening and managed to get on a few rides before the school arrived, I then joined the other teachers and we went on so many rides I lost count! We went on the river rapids twice as it was such a warm day and welcomed the cold water to cool us off,Β we also went on all of the rollercoasters including the fastest multi-launch-rollercoaster in the world (whatever that means!).

IMG_2835IMG_2839

4. Brussels

I also managed to get across to Brussels for a weekend to meet up with Annabel, we had from Friday afternoon until Sunday night and lesiurely made our way around the city. Of course we took advantage of the fact that the Belgians invented the french fry and also ended up exploring the gay scene. The hostel we stayed at was really nice and even offered free breakfast every day! Read here to see what else we got up to.

IMG_2779.JPG

5. Heidelberg

Last but not least on my list is my visit to Heidelberg last month. I got the bus on Saturday morning and returned Sunday night which was significantly cheaper than the train. My main (only) reason for going to Heidelberg was to meet up with Julia, with the added advantage that the city is absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately due to Julia’s exams I haven’t had the chance to return to Heiderlberg but I thoroughly enjoyed the two days that we spent together. Here is my blogpost about the weekend.

IMG_2977

As you can probably tell, I have enjoyed Germany 100 times more than Spain and I think that is down to a number of reasons. The German culture definitely suits me more than the Spanish does, I never did get used to the weird meal times or staying up all night! It has also been great to see my friends, and the familiar faces have made such a difference during such a trying year.

Overall I have enjoyed my year abroad, and although I wasn’t the biggest fan of my 5 months in Seville I do look back with fondness. I’m hoping to write a blog post summing up Germany, and then my year abroad in general, so keep your eyes peeled.

There’s only 2 weeks left until I finish work and Andy flies out for the summer, I can’t believe how fast this year has gone. I’m definitely looking forward to our interrailing trip, so far we’ve booked lots of exciting things and it’s really starting to come together.

Thanks for reading! xxx

Leave a Reply

