A Weekend in Salzburg

Last weekend I had the pleasure of flying to Salzburg to meet Katherine for a fun-filled weekend of sightseeing, eating and drinking. Our weekend started on Friday after my plane landed at just after 4pm, I was quite shocked at the lax security and I didn’t even have my passport checked once! We got a taxi to our Airbnb and then got a bus into the centre to start our first night.

IMG_1707IMG_1713IMG_1735

We found an Indian/Italian restaurant that catered for both my veganism and Katherines ย gluten-free needs and had a glass of wine each before heading off to an outside bar to share a bottle of prosecco. It was so nice to see a friendly face and have a good catch up, the last time I saw Katherine was at Christmas so we definitely had a lot to talk about and didn’t end up getting home until about 1am (after a 90-minuteย bus journey from hell).

On Saturday we spent all day in the city centre, we walked up to the Hohensalzburg Fortress where we enjoyed some beautiful views out onto the countryside, an audio guide tour, a drink on the terrace and finally a ride back down in theย funicular.

IMG_1822IMG_1795IMG_1798

We also visited the various churches, the local food market, and plenty of cafes to keep us hydrated. On Saturday night we had tea in a vegan/gluten-free restaurant and then headed back to our “usual” bar to share another bottle of prosecco. ๐Ÿ™‚

On Sunday we were up nice and early to head to the lakes andย this was definitely my highlight of the trip. The lakes and mountains were absolutely beautiful and I hadn’t seen anything like that before. We got the bus from Salzburg after having an early breakfast and arrived at about 11:30am, then we had a look around St Gilgen before getting the ferry across the lake to St Wolfgang. We found a really nice restaurant looking out across the lakes, Katherine had a salad and I had tofu skewers with fried potatoes. The food was absolutely lovely and we had a great spot in the sun, just a shame we didn’t pack any suncream as we both headed home a bit red!! I think the pictures speak for themselves really…

IMG_1851IMG_1863IMG_1877IMG_1907IMG_1901IMG_1895

I had such an amazing weekend and it was so upsetting when we said our goodbyes on Sunday night, I’m so lucky to have such an amazing friend and it’s always such good fun when we spend time together. This is definitely in my best moments of my year abroad and I’ll remember this weekend forever. Thanks Katherine for being such a good friend and I can’t wait to see you again whenever that will be!! I spent Monday day time just having another relaxing walk around the city centre trying to kill time until my flight at 5pm, it’s never as much fun being by yourself but it was nice to have some chilled out times and a rest from the sun.

IMG_1834

Cheers to more good times with great friends and thanks for reading! xxx

Leave a Reply

