Summing up Seville

Well after 5 and a half months of living in Seville my time there has come to an end and I figured it was time to write a blog post about my experience. I hope this post will help others who are considering doing a year abroad whether that be in Seville or another city. Overall it was a good experience although difficult at times and I’m very grateful for the opportunity of living abroad. As many of you will know I am in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend Andy which has made things a lot harder but it is so worth it to keep the relationship strong while I’m away and I wouldn’t change it for anything. (Click here to read my posts about my LDR).

img_6979
Me, my parents and Andy

I moved to Spain on the 1st September 2016 to start my Erasmus Year Abroad working part-time for a translation agency, I worked Monday-Friday 9-2 in a small office with roughly 11 other people. I know some people who went on their year abroad with their friends and I decided that I wanted to go to a city completely alone to ensure that I made the most of my time there, as if I went with a friend we probably would have just spent all our time together speaking English.

It was definitely tough starting out as I didn’t know anyone and had to settle into my new flat and job all while living in a foreign country but after a few weeks it felt more like home. As I started making friends and getting used to the culture it became a lot easier and I started to enjoy myself even though I missed my family and friends. I did 4 months in Spain, excluding a weekend back in Newcastle (here) and a visit from my Dad (here), before I came home for Christmas which felt like it went really slowly but looking back it feels like a blur. I then had another month, including a visit from Andy (here),before ending my internship and coming home for a week.

I ended up making some really good friends and definitely hope to keep in touch with some of them, one of my friends รlvaro even let me stay at his house for free for 10 days!! I would have been so lost without the friendly faces that I got to know so well and I’m really grateful for the way they welcomed me into their lives. I didn’t always enjoy my job as I felt a bit left out and didn’t always have tasks to occupy me but it gave me a lot of experience in translation and I’m now interested in pursuing that as a career.

I do wish I had done a bit more travelling while I was in Spain, I did travel to Malaga and Cordoba but it would have been nice to go to places like Cadiz, Jerez and Granada which is something that I will actively try to do in Germany.

img_8263
Cordoba

Speaking of Germany, on Saturday (18th Feb) I’m moving to Cologne where I’ll continue my YA for another 5 and a half months working for BCD Chemie. I’m really looking forward to the next chapter and hope that there’s lots of exciting things awaiting me in Germany.

Thanks for reading and if you have any specific questions about my time abroad then let me know below!

Leave a Reply

