Vegan food shopping in Spain

So many people have asked me how I’m finding being vegan in Spain and to be honest it’s not that difficult. My local supermarket has loads of cool vegan things like ice cream and chocolate puddings so I’m not struggling at all. The only thing that is slightly difficult is going out to restaurants but it definitely helped to make vegan friends as they show me cool places to go! I thought I’d make a quick little post with the items from one of my bigger shops and explain what I bought and what meals I plan on making with it. As I work literally a 30 second walk from a huge supermarket I usually go 3 or 4 times a week so that everything is as fresh as can be and so that I don’t have to struggle with a full weeks worth of shopping on the bus in one go, but on this particular week my cupboards were quite bare so I had to buy a lot in one go.

IMG_8469.jpg

img_8470
My receipt in order of the list below minus items 8 and 14 which are hygiene products.

Items

Whole potatoes, cooked veg, artichoke hearts, pasta sauce, pasta, root veg pack, olives, fresh bread, onions, chocolate biscuits, bananas and tomatoes. Total: €13.86

I obviously had all the essential items already in my cupboard such as garlic, spices, salt, oil, lentils, rice, beans etc which I only buy once in a while so they are not included in the list. The chocolate biscuits are a treat that I buy every now and then, I have had to stop buying them every week though as I’ve been eating the full pack in one go… oops!

Meal ideas

Here a few ideas that I usually base my meals from, adapting them to whatever I have in at the time. Items in italics are what I specifically used from this shop, everything else I already had in the cupboards.

Paella with the cooked veg, onions, olives, tomatoes, curry powder, and rice.

Simple pasta with onions, tomatoes, olives, veg, pasta sauce and pasta

Tomato and lentil chili with tomatoes, carrots, onions, pinto beans, black beans, lentils, spices and served with rice. 4 portions

IMG_8583.jpg
Eating leftover chili at work

Lentil and root veg stew with carrots, potatoes, celery, leek, onions, lentils, veg stock, chickpeas and spinach and herbs. 4 portions

IMG_8497.jpg
I cooked the stew for myself and my flatmate, enjoyed with bread and a bottle of wine.

So for under €14 and the things I had in my cupboard anyway I made at least 10 portions of food to be eaten throughout the week (some of which I shared with my flatmate) and it is definitely more cost effective to buy and cook in bulk. If you don’t like eating the same meal often then you can freeze the leftovers and eat them the next week, but I use my leftovers as my lunches at work otherwise I wouldn’t be able to eat until gone 3 o’clock.

If anyone is interested, the next time I do a shop I can work out the price per portion for a few meals so that you can really see how much I spend on food.

I hope this post has opened your eyes a little bit to the fact that cooking vegan doesn’t have to cost the earth and it can be varied and tasty. If you have any questions about being vegan or what I usually eat on a day to day basis then leave a comment below! Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

