5 Strange Things about Spain

Hi guys! Sorry for being a bit MIA recently but I’ve been a bit lazy and haven’t been writing much (or anything). So today I decided to do a fun topic about the 5 strangest things I’ve noticed since moving to Spain.

1. No hay prisa

I don’t think I have ever seen a Spanish person in a rush… they always walk slow, they’re always late and they generally just aren’t bothered about anything being done on time. Once I was going to meet my friend and was 10 minutes late, I was absolutely mortified about this but then when I got to our meeting place he hadn’t arrived either. That pretty much sums Spain up.

2. Lack of sleep

Whenever I tell people that I usually go to bed at 10:30 they freak out, I’m pretty sure I haven’t even met a Spanish person that goes to bed before midnight. I really don’t understand it, why would you go to bed at 2am when you have to be up at 7:30 to go to work?! Nights out are even worse, I’m not a fan of starting the night at midnight especially because in Newcastle I’m usually home by then (I’m only half joking).

3. Meal times

I’ve slightly adjusted to this one by having my tea at about 7/8 o’clock every night but I still eat my lunch at about 12:30, this was probably one of the hardest things to get used to because if I ever want to go out for a meal with my friends then I have to have something to eat at about 5 o’clock otherwise I’m hungry by 7 and we usually eat at 9/10. Definitely not fun.

4. Voice messages

The Spanish are obsessed with sending voice messages on WhatsApp rather than typing a message out, this is all well and good if you’re in the comfort of your own home but why would you want everyone within earshot to listen in on your conversation? It’s like walking around on the phone with it on loud speaker. As a foreigner this also isn’t fun because trying to understand the muffled voice messages is less than ideal, at least with a text i can use google translate!!

5. Swearing

Spanish people swear A LOT which is something that I didn’t know before coming over here, it’s completely normal to use words like joder, mierda and coño (different ways of saying sh*t or f*ck) at the dinner table and even in front of children! To my polite British ears it was very strange to get used to at first but they just don’t have the same connotations here as they do in England which I guess is part of the culture change. See this article for a guide to Spanish swear words: Top 10 Spanish swear words

So a short and sweet post for today, thanks for reading as always and I’ll try to get back posting regularly. I might post some things about Christmas/England as it’s only 16 days until I go home!!

One thought on “5 Strange Things about Spain

Leave a Reply

