General life update

Welcome to my first bilingual post, English first and the Spanish version is below.

Bienvenido a mi entrada bilingüe, el ingles es primero y después el español.

EN: So I’ve been posting a lot about tips/advice for others going on their YA and sightseeing around Seville but I haven’t really done a personal life update so I figured that it was time for one. After 7 weeks in Seville I am getting into the groove of Spanish life, and although some things still baffle me (why does everyone go to bed so late?!) I do feel a little bit more at home.

Dorothy was right when she said “there’s no place like home” but I think it’s important to put yourself out there, I haven’t lived with my parents for the last 2 years but the move to Spain was definitely the hardest thing I’ve done for a while. But now I am settled in it’s a lot easier.

I’ve made a few friends who keep me sane rather than spending every afternoon sat in by myself, including Cristi who I met in the youth hostel and am still in touch with 7 weeks later. Along with Mari, Toñi, Alfonso, Álvaro and Marta I don’t think I’ve done too badly so far.

unadjustednonraw_thumb_1584
Silva, Me and Cristi on a hike which I talk about here
img_0159
Me, Álvaro and Marta

After work I try and keep myself occupied, my exercise routine fell through after my collapsed lung started giving me some jip and although every morning I convince myself that I’ll do some yoga when I get in it’s yet to come to fruition, I’ll watch some Spanish Netflix (thanks to Katherine for the tip), read the next chapter in Harry Potter or pop out for a little walk around the city. On Tuesday I ended up going for a drink (at 4pm!!) and reading a chapter of the Chamber of Secrets or La Camarar Secreta at the bar, see photo below:

unadjustednonraw_thumb_1604

So I’m finding Erasmus life to be pretty chilled, with my loan, grant and salary I’m enjoying myself enough without having to think about money too much (see my post here about managing money on your YA). I’ve been starting to look at weekend trips away, the main contenders so far being Cádiz and Córdoba, the bus is a pretty cool way to travel on the cheap- I can get return tickets to Córdoba for 20€- and that suits me fine as I’m not too fussy.

While my job provides good experience there’s often a shortage of tasks for me to do which can make the mornings go slowly and other than correct and re-do my previous tasks I find it hard to keep busy. Hopefully it starts picking up soon and I have lots of translations to do. The type of work varies quite a lot from filling out tax evasion reports and accident reports to magazine articles on looking after your hair and skin, meaning that I’m exposed to a wide range of vocab which is always a good thing.

Other than that I don’t really have too much to say, I’m enjoying my time here and although it can be tough at times I try my best to just get on with it and am seeing the benefits already. My Spanish is slowly getting there and I need to make sure I keep up my German so that when I go to Cologne I haven’t forgotten everything!

See my previous posts for what else I’ve been up to/mira mis otras entradas a ver que he hecho en los últimos días:

My visit to the Cathedral

My Weekend in Newcastle

Senderismo en Aznalcóllar, Sevilla

Hope you enjoyed the read and next week I will be starting a series of posts about being in a long distance relationship and how to keep in touch with your friends while you’re away so keep an eye out for that. Until next time!


ES: He escrito consejos para otros durante su tiempo al extranjero y sobre turismo en Sevilla pero no he escrito mucho sobre mi vida personal, pienso que es tiempo para una entrada sobre este. Después de 7 semanas en Sevilla, me he acostumbrado un poco a la vida española, aunque algunas cosas aun me confunde (¿¡porque se acosta la gente demasiado tarde?!) me siento un poco más en casa.

Dorothy tiene razón cuando dijo “no existe lugar mejor que la casa”  pero pienso que es importante viajar, no he vivido con mis padres durante los últimos dos años pero la mudanza a España fue lo más difícil que he hecho en años.  Pero ahora estoy contenta y es mucho más fácil.

He hecho algunos amigos y quedamos durante la semana después de mi trabajo, que es mejor que pasar todo la tarde sola en mi habitación, incluido Cristi, conocimos en el hostal y estamos aun amigas 7 semanas más tarde. Junto con Mari, Toñi, Alfonso, Álvaro y Marta estoy muy contenta.

Después de mi trabajo intento hacer cosas a entretenerme, no hago ejercicio ahora mismo porque tengo problemas con mi nuemotórax y aunque todas las mañanas me digo que voy a hacer yoga todavía no ha pasado. Normalmente veo Netflix en español (gracias a mi amiga Katherine), leo un poco de Harry Potter o dar un paseo por la cuidad. El martes tome una copa (¡a las 4 por la tarde!) y leí un capítulo de La Camarar Secreta en un bar.

La vida Erasmus es muy buena, con mi préstamo, beca y salario tengo bastante dinero a disfrutarme sin muchos pensamientos sobre el dinero. He buscando viajes durante los fines de semanas, quizás a Cádiz o Córdoba, el autobús es guay y barato-  la idea y vuelta a Córdoba solo cuesta 20€- es muy buen.

Mi trabajo es una buena experiencia pero no siempre hay mucho trabajo para mi y a veces el tiempo pasa muy lentamente y es difícil encontrar cosas a hacer. Espero que pronto tenga mas traducciones a hacer. El tipo de trabajo es muy diverso y aprendo mucho vocabulario.

No tengo muchas otras cosas a decir, disfruto mi tiempo aquí y aunque a veces es difícil trato lo mejor a contenerme con la situación. Mi español mejora poquito a poquito y necesito practicar mi alemán para que no olvide todo cuando voy a Colonia.

Espero que disfrutes leer mi blog y la semana que viene voy a escribir sobre relaciones a distancia (novio/as y amigo/as). Hasta pronto!

Leave a Reply

